Receiving in the Season of Giving

Standard

With the season of giving coming to an end I have so many reasons to express my gratitude.  I was bestowed with many presents, gifts from my children, friends and family which were so thoughtful; things to keep me fed, handmade items which were made with love, things which will keep me warm.  The ones for which I am most appreciative are those given without intent, the ones which cannot be wrapped, the ones which you may not even notice you received until they have been used.

I am so very grateful for the gift of friendship, both old and new. Friends whom I have known for decades, who always arrive at the perfect moment; those who have shared memories, laughs and tears; and those who have recently entered my life have all taught me lessons and provided a richness to my life. The unconditional acceptance, the challenging conversations and added perspectives have allowed me to grow.

As I reflect on my fortune, I am unsure why I have been given such favor, unsure of why I deserve such blessings. Although I can express my gratitude, I feel the best way to show how deep it runs is to carry these blessings forward in hopes of sharing them with others in hopes of distributing the benefit I have received.

 “So many people are shut up tight inside themselves like boxes, yet they would open up, unfolding quite wonderfully, if only you were interested in them.”

― Sylvia Plath

One thought on “Receiving in the Season of Giving

  1. You deserve to be loved because you are genuine in word, deed, and spirit! No one can ever take that away. It is a gift that is yours forever!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

