I need….

Standard

This seems to have become my mantra as of late.

I need….

 I need to learn to pause in the silence, in the darkness.

I need to learn that not everything needs to be fixed.

I need to learn that empathy can be offered without resolution.

I need to learn that not everyone wants advice.

I need to resist my urge to repair and restore.

I need to practice listening to hear, to understand.

I need to practice witnessing one’s story as opposed to writing it.

I need to practice the wisdom that not everyone needs a solution, they may only need a hand to hold, an ear to hear and a heart to love.

I need to stand in the silence, in the darkness.

 

“What you see and what you hear depends a great deal on where you are standing.”
― C.S. Lewis

Leave a Reply

