Succumb

Standard

The seaworthy vessel capsized a lifetime ago, leaving nothing but the fear the water and effects scattered. Quelling the panic, quickly treading water and gaining bearings. The only choice is to begin swimming against the current which seemed the like the right choice under the noonday sun, not so much now. The dread and doom Sisyphus must have felt; to wake every morning and face the same insurmountable task with no hope of completion nor success, life without hope.  Maybe the gifts already imparted, compassion to one, spirit to the other and willfulness to the third with sprinklings of intelligence to all three are the only things that can be provided.  As the darkness of the day descends the continual futility of the upstream battle has taken its toll, maybe floating for a bit with the current is the only real choice that remains,  otherwise one would yield to the water, collapse from my weakness and succumb.

 

 “I surrender myself to everything. I love, I feel pain, I struggle. The world seems to me wider than the mind, my heart a dark and almighty mystery.” ―Nikos Kazantzakis

Leave a Reply

