Do What Feels……

Standard

My sister and I have had extensive conversations about everything and nothing. On my last visit with to her home we were each struggling with what to do in different situations, they were as opposite in response as possible but both were perplexing us. In a moment of scrolling and snooping I opened facebook to find a friend from the other side of the world post a quote by Eleanor Roosevelt,  “Do what you feel in your heart to be right – for you’ll be criticized anyway.”  In the moment of reading that all the planets aligned and the universe came into focus and as I read it aloud to my sister, I saw the same thing occur in the expression on her face.  It became our mantra, only to be repeated dozens of times in the subsequent days.

Do what feels right in your heart. How often had I told others that? You need to listen to your inner voice because it is typically right; what feels right is what you are meant to do; if it doesn’t feel right then it probably isn’t and no matter how hard you try to rationalize it you will always struggle with that choice. In that moment I realized I had been struggling with that for I was not always listening to my heart and the amount of strife it had caused me was immense. I did listen to a point, hearing patience and wait but there were moments when I tried to make it fit a different timeline, different expectations so while I am sure there would have still been struggle and pain I believe I would have minimized it by listening solely to my inner voice. Why had I drifted from my own belief only to be lost in a sea of noise?

You know that your choice is correct when you feel peace in your heart and your soul rests. We often listen to the noise of the world striving to meet someone else’s expectations of what our life should be when deep inside each of us is the only voice we need to follow. Being reminded of that fact, I refocused my thoughts, trying to keep my faith that things unfold exactly as they should, one is the person they need to be in that moment and to learn to listen to my heart. While there will always be moments of struggle, when I quite my mind and the cacophony of the world where I can listen to my heart and soul, if that is the choice I make it typically results in me continuing to build my foundation of peace. Thank you to my friend from France and thanks Sis for embracing my mantra!

“As soon as you trust yourself, you will know how to live.”  Goethe

2 thoughts on “Do What Feels……

  1. It’s taken me decades to figure out that, no matter what choices I make, there will always be someone there to tell me I’m wrong or stupid or whatever. Most of them have made more than their fair share of mistakes themselves but don’t blink an eyelid at telling me how I should live my life. I’m 54 years old and have finally found my freedom. As you say, you’ve made the right decision when it feels peaceful in your heart…and there’s only one person who can know what that is – you. Great post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

